Lizy Kurian John

Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: EER 5.876
Phone: 512-232-1455
FAX: 512-471-2893
E-mail: ljohn at ece dot utexas dot edu
Office Hours:

Dr. Lizy Kurian John holds the Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professorship in Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

She received her Ph.D. in computer engineering from The Pennsylvania State University. She joined The University of Texas Austin faculty in 1996. Her research is in the areas of computer architecture, multicore processors, memory systems, performance evaluation and benchmarking, workload characterization, and reconfigurable computing.

Professor John's research has been supported by the National Science Foundation, Semiconductor Research Consortium (SRC), DARPA, Lockheed Martin, AMD, Oracle, Huawei, IBM, Intel, Motorola, Freescale, Dell, Samsung, Texas Instruments, etc.. She is recipient of NSF CAREER award (1996), UT Austin Engineering Foundation Faculty Award (2001), Halliburton, Brown and Root Engineering Foundation Young Faculty Award (1999), University of Texas Alumni Association Teaching Award (2004), The Pennsylvania State University Outstanding Engineering Alumnus (2011) etc.

Professor John holds 10 U. S. patents and has published 16 book chapters, 200 refereed journal and conference publications, and approximately 50 workshop papers. She has coauthored books on Digital Systems Design using VHDL (Cengage Publishers), Digital Systems Design using Verilog (Cengage Publishers) and has edited a book on Computer Performance Evaluation and Benchmarking (CRC Press). She has also edited three books on workload characterization.

Professor John is the Editor-in-Chief (EIC) Elect of IEEE MICRO (term begins January 2019) and she is in the editorial boards of ACM Transactions on Architecture and Code Optimizations (TACO), IEEE Computer Architecture Letters, IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Computing, and has served in the past as an associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Computers and IEEE Transactions on VLSI. She is a member of IEEE, IEEE Computer Society, ACM, and ACM SIGARCH. She is an IEEE Fellow (Class of 2009).