Research Students and Alumni of Prof. Brian L. Evans

Overview - Research - Students - PhD Alumni - Student & Alumni Awards - Weekly Meetings - More Information

Current Graduate Students

Picture Hugo Andrade
electronic design automation
patterns of reliability for highly parallel systems
Picture Yunseong Cho
communication systems
massive MIMO, low-resolution data converters, machine learning
Picture Jinseok Choi
communication systems
millimeter wave, low-resolution data converters
Picture Scott Johnston
machine learning
detection in low SNR environments
Picture Faris Mismar
wireless networks
machine learning
Picture Junmo Sung
communication systems
millimeter wave, channel estimation

PhD Alumni Summary

The following PhD alumni were advised by Prof. Brian L. Evans. The link for each alumni's name leads to his/her PhD dissertation.

Name Employer Title Graduated
Jinseok Choi Qualcomm Corporate R&D Senior Engineer Dec. 2019
Debarati Kundu Qualcomm Senior Lead Engineer May 2016
Yousof Mortazavi Ambiq Micro Audio Architect May 2015
Karl Nieman National Instruments Senior Wireless Platform Architect Dec. 2014
Chao Jia Google Research Software Engineer May 2014
Jing Lin Qualcomm Senior System Engineer May 2014
Kyle Wesson GPS Systems Engineer InPhase Research May 2014
Marcel Nassar Intel Data Scientist Aug. 2013
Aditya Chopra AT&T Labs Principal Member of Technical Staff Dec. 2011
Kapil Gulati Qualcomm Corporate R&D Staff Engineer Aug. 2011
Gregory Allen UT Austin Applied Research Laboratories Senior Engineering Scientist May 2011
Hamood Rehman Avvasi Design Engineer Dec. 2010
Ian Wong National Instruments Senior Advanced Wireless Research Manager May 2007
Kyungtae Han Toyota InfoTech Labs Principal Researcher Aug. 2006
Zukang Shen Huawei Senior Expert May 2006
Vishal Monga Pennsylvania State University Associate Professor Aug. 2005
Serene Banerjee Ericsson Senior Data Scientist Aug. 2004
Ming Ding Broadcom Principal DSP Engineer Aug. 2004
Dogu Arifler Eastern Mediterranean University Professor May 2004
Milos Milosevic Halliburton Senior Director May 2003
Wade Schwartzkopf Integrity Applications Research Scientist Dec. 2002
Clint Slatton (deceased) University of Florida Associate Professor Dec. 2001
Guner Arslan Silicon Labs Principal Systems Design Engineer Dec. 2000
Niranjan Damera-Venkata HP Research Labs Principal Scientist Dec. 2000
Biao Lu OpenSpirit Senior Software Engineer Dec. 2000
Murat Torlak The University of Texas at Dallas Professor Aug. 1999
Thomas Kite (deceased) Audio Precision Vice President of Engineering Aug. 1998
Dong Wei at&t Research Labs Member of Technical Staff Aug. 1998

The following PhD graduates were co-advised: Dogu Arifler (Prof. Gustavo de Veciana), Thomas Kite (Prof. Alan C. Bovik), Yousof Mortazavi (Prof. Arjang Hassibi), Wade Schwartzkopf (Prof. Alan C. Bovik), Zukang Shen (Prof. Jeffrey G. Andrews), Clint Slatton (Prof. Melba Crawford), Murat Torlak (Prof. Guanghan Xu), Dong Wei (Prof. Alan C. Bovik) and Kyle Wesson (Prof. Todd E. Humphreys).

Here's the breakdown of the current placements of the above PhD graduates:

The above PhD alumni took an average of 3.3 years of full-time graduate studies (including internships in industry) from the time that they first enrolled as a full-time post-Master's student to the time that they officially graduated with their PhDEE degree.

Student & Alumni Awards

Several PhD students and alumni have recently received national and international recognition:

More Information

Ph.D. students - Master's students - Undergraduate students - Alumni - Volunteer duties

Last updated 09/19/19. Mail comments about this page to