Andreas Gerstlauer

Position: Associate Professor
Address: Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin
201 E 24th Street, Stop C0803
Austin, TX 78712, USA
Areas: Integrated Circuits & Systems
Computer Architecture & Embedded Processors
Computer Engineering
Affiliations: Integrated Circuits and Systems Group
Computer Engineering Research Center
Wireless Networking and Communications Group
Office: POB 6.118
Office hours: M 3:30-5:00pm, W 2:00-3:30pm, or after class/by appointment
Office phone: +1 (512) 232-8294
Office fax: +1 (512) 471-3652
E-mail: gerstl@ece.utexas.edu (GPG/PGP key)

I am an Associate Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department at the University of Texas at Austin. My research interests are in the area of embedded systems, specifically with a focus on electronic system-level design (ESL/SLD), system modeling, design languages and methodologies, and embedded hardware and software synthesis.

I received a Ph.D. degree in Information and Computer Science from the University of California, Irvine (UCI) in 2004. Prior to joining UT in 2008, I was an Assistant Researcher in the Center for Embedded Computer Systems (CECS) at UC Irvine, leading a research group to develop electronic system-level (ESL) design automation tools. Commercial derivatives of such tools are in use at the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), NEC Toshiba Space Systems and others. I am co-author on 3 books and more than 70 conference and journal publications. Our paper on OS modeling was reprinted as one of the most influential contributions in 10 years at DATE. I have presented in several conference and industrial tutorials, and I serve as an Associated Editor for the ACM Transactions on Embedded Computer Systems (TECS), the ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems (TODAES), as well as a Topic/Track Chair or member of the program committee for major international conferences such as DAC, DATE, CODES+ISSS and ICCAD.

My research is made possible through the support of NSF, SRC, AMD, Intel, National Instruments, Qualcomm, Samsung, and Xilinx.

Research Group

  • Current students:
    • Dongwook Lee (Ph.D.)
    • Seogoo Lee (Ph.D.)
    • Zhuoran Zhao (M.S./Ph.D.)
    • Sabine Francis (M.S./Ph.D.)
    • Mochamad Asri (Ph.D.)
    • Behzad Boroujerdian (M.S./Ph.D.)
  • Alumni:
    • Wenxiao Yu (M.S., 2015), Salesforce, San Francisco, CA
    • Jin Miao (Ph.D., 2014, co-supervised with Prof. Orshansky), Cadence, San Jose, CA
    • Parisa Razaghi (Ph.D., 2014), Cadence, San Jose, CA
    • Dylan Pfeifer (Ph.D., 2014, co-supervised with Prof. Valvano), Intel, Austin, TX
    • Ardavan Pedram (Ph.D., 2013, co-supervised with Prof. van de Geijn), post-doc at Stanford
    • Ku He (Ph.D., 2012, co-supervised with Prof. Orshansky), Cirrus Logic, Austin, TX
    • Ashmita Sinha (M.S., 2012), Intel, Austin, TX
    • Manan Kathuria (M.S., 2012), Intel Mobile Communications, NJ
    • Suhas Chakravarty (M.S., 2012), Freescale, India
    • Ahmed Abdel Hadi (Ph.D., 2011, co-supervised with Prof. Vishwanath), post-doc at Virginia Tech
    • Arindam Goswami (M.S., 2011), National Instruments, Austin, TX
    • Pablo Salinas Bomfim (M.S., 2010), Digital Development S.A., Paraguay