Andreas Gerstlauer


Position: Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor
Associate Department Chair for Academic Affairs
Address: Chandra Family Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin
2501 Speedway, Stop C0803
Austin, TX 78712, USA
Areas: Architecture, Computer Systems, and Embedded Systems (ACSES)
Integrated Circuits & Systems (ICS)
Affiliations: Wireless Networking and Communications Group
Office: EER 5.882
Office hours: TTh 11am-noon, or by appointment
Office phone: +1 (512) 232-8294
E-mail: gerstl@ece.utexas.edu (GPG/PGP key)

I am a Professor, holder of the Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professorship in Engineering #6, and Associate Chair for Academic Affairs in the Chandra Family Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at the University of Texas at Austin. My research interests are in the area of embedded systems, cyber-physical systems (CPS) and the Internet of Things (IoT), specifically with a focus on electronic system-level design (ESL/SLD) methods, system modeling, system-level design languages and design methodologies, and embedded hardware and software synthesis.

I received a Dipl.-Ing. (M.S.) degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Stuttgart, Germany in 1997 and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Information and Computer Science from the University of California, Irvine in 1998 and 2004, respectively. Prior to joining UT Austin in 2008, I was an Assistant Researcher in the Center for Embedded Computer Systems (CECS) at UC Irvine, leading a research group to develop electronic system-level (ESL) design automation tools. Commercial derivatives of such tools were in use at the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), NEC Toshiba Space Systems and others. I am co-author on 3 books and more than 150 conference and journal publications, and have presented in numerous conference and industry tutorials. Our work was recognized with the Outstanding Paper Award at the 2023 Euromicro Conference on Real-Time Systems (ECRTS), the Best Paper Award at the 2021 Workshop on Machine Learning for CAD (MLCAD), the Best Research Paper Award at the 2016 Design Automation Conference (DAC), the Best Paper Award at the 2015 International Conference on Embedded Computer Systems: Architectures, Modeling and Simulation (SAMOS), several best paper nominations from, among others, DAC, DATE and HOST conferences, as a 2021 IEEE HSTTC Top Pick in Hardware and Embedded Security, as the recipient of a Humboldt Research Fellowship in 2016-2017, and as one of the most influential contributions in 10 years at DATE in 2008. I have served as General Co-Chair and Chair for ESWEEK 2020 and 2021, General and Finance Chair for MEMOCODE 2015, Co-Chair and Chair of the Program Committee for CODES+ISSS 2015 and 2016, and Technical Program Chair for SAMOS 2016. I currently serve as a Special Issue Editor for the ACM TECS journal, and I have served as Associate and Guest Editor for ACM TECS and ACM TODAES journals as well as Topic/Track Chair or member of the program committee for major international conferences such as DAC, DATE, CODES+ISSS and ICCAD.

I lead the System-Level Architecture and Modeling (SLAM) research group at UT Austin.

My research is made possible through the support of NSF, DOE, SRC, Sandia National Labs, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, AMD, ARM, ExxonMobil, GlobalFoundries, Intel, Lockheed Martin, National Instruments, Qualcomm, Samsung, and Xilinx.

Research Group

  • Current students:
    • Kamyar Mirzazad Barijou (Ph.D.)
    • Alexander Cathis (Ph.D.)
    • Susana Alcorta Lozano (Ph.D.)
    • Dimitrios Gourounas (M.S./Ph.D.)
    • Matthew Barondeau (M.S./Ph.D.)
    • James Boyle (Ph.D.)
    • Daniel Peralta Velazquez (M.S./Ph.D.)
    • Jason Ho (M.S./Ph.D.)
    • Shrihari Gokulachandran (M.S./Ph.D.)
  • Alumni:
    • Pranav Rama (M.S., 2024), Ph.D. with Prof. Banerjee, UT Austin
    • Madison Threadgill (M.S., 2024), Nvidia, Austin, TX
    • Kishore Punniyamurthy (Ph.D., 2021), AMD Research, Austin, TX
    • Jackson Farley (M.S., 2021), Texas Instruments, Plano, TX
    • Mochamad Asri (Ph.D., 2020), Facebook, Menlo Park, CA
    • Ajay Krishna Ananda Kumar (M.S., 2020), Apple, Cupertino, CA
    • Zhuoran Zhao (Ph.D., 2019), Facebook, Menlo Park, CA
    • Wooseok Lee (Ph.D., 2019), co-supervised with Prof. John), Samsung Austin Research Center, Austin, TX
    • Malek Srour (M.S., 2018), Apple, Cupertino, CA
    • Seogoo Lee (Ph.D., 2017), Cadence, Pittsburgh, PA
    • Xinnian Zheng (Ph.D., 2017, co-supervised with Prof. John), NVIDIA, Austin, TX
    • Dongwook Lee (Ph.D., 2017), Microsoft, Redmond, WA
    • Abhishek Das (M.S., 2016), Ph.D. at UT Austin
    • Sabine Francis (M.S., 2015), Intel, Austin, TX
    • Wenxiao Yu (M.S., 2015), Salesforce, San Francisco, CA
    • Jin Miao (Ph.D., 2014, co-supervised with Prof. Orshansky), Cadence, San Jose, CA
    • Parisa Razaghi (Ph.D., 2014), Cadence, San Jose, CA
    • Dylan Pfeifer (Ph.D., 2014, co-supervised with Prof. Valvano), Intel, Austin, TX
    • Ardavan Pedram (Ph.D., 2013, co-supervised with Prof. van de Geijn), post-doc at Stanford
    • Ku He (Ph.D., 2012, co-supervised with Prof. Orshansky), Cirrus Logic, Austin, TX
    • Ashmita Sinha (M.S., 2012), Intel, Austin, TX
    • Manan Kathuria (M.S., 2012), Intel Mobile Communications, NJ
    • Suhas Chakravarty (M.S., 2012), Freescale, India
    • Ahmed Abdel Hadi (Ph.D., 2011, co-supervised with Prof. Vishwanath), post-doc at Virginia Tech
    • Arindam Goswami (M.S., 2011), National Instruments, Austin, TX
    • Pablo Salinas Bomfim (M.S., 2010), Digital Development S.A., Paraguay